Commission on Pathway to Excellence

ANCC’s Commission on Pathway to Excellence is a voluntary governing body that oversees the Pathway to Excellence Program. Commission members are appointed by the ANCC’s board of directors and are representatives from various sectors of the nursing community, which includes nursing executive leaders, nurse managers, staff nurses, long-term care nurses, and advanced practice registered nurses. One commission member represents public consumers. The Commission on Pathway to Excellence makes the final determination of award designation.

Commission on Pathway to Excellence:

  • Chair: Edna Cadmus, PhD, RN, NEA-BC (Academia)
  • Vice Chair: Nora Warshawsky, PhD, RN, CNE (Researcher)
  • Member at Large: Charles Perkins, MBA (community member)
  • Francine Douce, FACM, MACN (International)
  • Rodney "Rocky" Hauch, DNP, RN (Staff Nurse)
  • Jane McCurley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC (Nurse Executive)
  • Linda Harden, RN-BC, BSN, MS (Ambulatory)
  • Steven McPherson, BSN, RN (Nurse Manager)
  • Valerie Morrison Captain, U.S. Navy; DBA, MSM, BSN, NEA-BC, SHRM-SCP (Pre/post-acute care) 
  • John R. Mastrocola, BS, Director of Operations – Southern Region, Generations Healthcare (LTC)