Program Updates

JANUARY 1st, 2018
Please join us in sending a warm welcome to our new 2018 Pathway to Excellence commissioners:
Linda Harden MS, RN-BC – CNO at Henry Ford in Michigan in the new Ambulatory seat;
Jane McCurley DNP, MBA, RN, NEA-BC – System Assistant CNE and VP at HCA in Tennessee in the Nurse Executive seat;
Steven McPherson BSN, RN – Nurse Manager at Union Hospital in Maryland in the Nurse Manager seat,
Adrian Ramirez Jr. BSN, RN – Registered Nurse at Midland Memorial Hospital in Texas in the Staff Nurse seat.

Our new 2018 commissioners join continuing members: Edna Cadmus PhD, RN, NEA-BC; Francine Douce FACM, MACN; Catherine Hill DNP, RN; Charles Perkins MBA; and Nora Warshawsky PhD, RN, CNE.

You can view the entire commission on Pathway to Excellence here

December 15th, 2017

Please see our Program Fees page for updates. The updated fees schedule applies to applicants who submit their online application on or after January 1st 2018.

December 1st, 2017

Effective June 1, 2018 all application materials must be received via the online portal ( at least 8 months before the requested date of the Pathway Standards document submission.  Click here for more information on applying and requesting a document submission cycle.

In order to access the valuable resources available to applicant organizations, the Pathway Program Office strongly recommends adhering to this 8 month timeframe prior to the effective date.

The Pathway to Excellence in Long Term Care® 2017 Application Manual is now available!

Effective January 2018: Applicants submitting Pathway Standards Document must write to the standards in the Pathway to Excellence in Long Term Care 2017 Application Manual. Organizations achieving Pathway designation under 2017 Application Manual are granted a four-year designation. Organizations designated under the Pathway to Excellence 2013 Application Manual maintain the three- year designation.

Pathway Newsletters
November 2017
July 2017
April 2017